Heart Chakra - Anahata Chakra Chart

September 16, 2020

What is the Anahata or Heart Chakra?

Anahata Chakra is the most influential energy centre out of the seven chakras. Exploring divinity through pure love inspires this fourth chakra. A Heart Chakra opens the channels of the heart, allowing us to receive and give freely.

In Sanskrit, anahata means “unstruck” or “unbeaten”. This signifies an impartial and infinite love allowing a deeper understanding of self and others. It is located in the region of the heart, in the energy centre of the chest. It invites a person to meditate on the different levels of relationship experiences with an open heart.

The colour of the Anahata Chakra is green. The corresponding element is air which represents freedom and expansion. This chakra promotes a consciousness that develops boundless compassion. The mantra of the Anahata Chakra is 'yam'. It means to let go, to liberate, to give.

The Characteristics of Anahata Chakra

The Life-giving Element of Air

The element of Anahata Chakra or Heart Chakra is air or vayu. The air symbolizes freedom of expansion and breadth. A heart that is willing to give without restriction. Vayu is related to the sense of touch and emotional feelings. When the heart is open, a person feels optimistic, friendly, and motivated to believe in themselves. Building fulfilling relationships become easier when the Heart Chakra is balanced. A balanced Heart Chakra means we are more compassionate and understanding towards others.

The Renewing Element of Green 

The green colour of the Anahata Chakra represents growth and renewed healthy relationships. The colour green is associated with nature, freshness, and tenderness. It is a healing and restful colour for the human eye. Green suggests stability and endurance. Serenity, calmness, balance, and compassion for yourself, and others are the themes of the Heart Chakra.

Signs of a Blocked Heart Chakra

Issues with the energy flow in the Heart Chakra can make us feel lonely, isolated, and unable to connect. This is because when we are wounded and feel stuck in the past it leads to anxiety. Some people may be afraid of sharing and trusting their relationships. Any resolved disappointment from childhood may affect our behaviour as an adult. Any of the below-mentioned symptoms indicates that the Heart Chakra requires to rebalance and healing.

  • Fear of rejection
  • Loss of trust in a committed relationship
  • Issues with giving and receiving affection
  • Over dependency in a relationship
  • Distant behaviour with people who care
  • Tough and unemotional appearance while feeling vulnerable
  • Physical symptoms such as heart palpitation, poor blood circulation, heart pain, angina, or even problems like asthma.
Anahata Chakra

Access an exclusive guided meditation & video lecture with master teacher Ram Jain for free

How can we balance the Heart Chakra?

When the Heart Chakra opens, you’ll feel an abundance of empathy, compassion, and love. This applies not only to others but also to oneself. A balanced chakra allows people to be who they are, instead of attempting to live up to external expectations. A person with an open Heart Chakra develops trust in themselves and respects others. Here are some of the ways to unblock the Heart Chakra.

A Seed Mantra Meditation for Love

Meditation can help to restore proper energy flow to the Heart Chakra. Meditation is a deeply personal experience that clears the path to experiencing peace within. It resolves the various anxious thoughts that bring imbalance in life.

The mantra associated with Anahata Chakra is YAM. It is considered to be the seed or beej of the heart depicted with the Heart Chakra symbolism. Chanting this mantra heals both the physical and the spiritual heart centre. It also makes a person more open to experiencing unconditional love and compassion.

Sit cross-legged and take deep breaths. Focus on the Heart Chakra and start changing YAM. Imagine the chakra opening with the energy flowing throughout the body. The vibrations of chanting YAM produce an overflow of positive feelings.

Daily Affirmations to Build Confidence & Love

Affirmations - can help to increase the positive energy associated with the Heart Chakra. Keeping a journal of gratitude helps in acknowledging the gifts of the present moment. Some examples of positive heart affirmations include:

  • I deeply and completely love and accept myself.
  • I am wanted and loved.
  • My heart is open to love.
  • I forgive myself.
  • I live in a state of grace and gratefulness.
  • I value love above attachment.
  • I am worthy of love.
  • I love all beings equally.
  • I am in harmony with myself and others.

Pranayama - Breathing Exercises for the Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra element is air so breathwork is a gateway to opening your Heart Chakra. One of the most beneficial breathwork techniques that not only balances the right and left brain hemispheres but also opens the heart is Anulom Vilom. Practising Anulom Vilom frequently brings calmness to both body and mind.

A Green Diet for Balancing the Anahata Chakra Energy

 The predominant colour of the Anahata Chakra is green. Eating foods of the same colour as the chakra you are trying to heal can balance the energy flow around that area. The foods that help restore the balance are- spinach, kale, broccoli, matcha, green apples, green tea, cucumbers, etc. Green vegetables are also recommended by expert nutritionists for a healthy body and mind.

Practising Forgiveness to Open the Heart Chakra

When we have experienced loss and isolation, it can make us judgmental and jealous. Making an effort to practice forgiveness might seem a very difficult task. Not being able to forget the past resentments and anger only stops us from moving forward into future happiness. Talking to a close friend or meeting a professional counsellor clears the mind and guides you through inner growth and peace.


The energy of the Heart Chakra has a deep impact on our personality. A meaningful and balanced life can be achieved when our Heart Chakra is in balance. Maintaining a balanced Heart Chakra brings knowledge of the Self, which helps develop a strong relationship with others.

Anahata Chakra

Access an exclusive guided meditation & video lecture with master teacher Ram Jain for free

About the author

Ram Jain

Born into a Jain family where yoga has been the way of life for five generations, my formal yoga journey began at age of eight at a Vedic school in India. There I received a solid foundation in ancient scriptures, including Vedas, Upanishads, Bhagavad Gita, and Yoga Sutras (to name a few).

In 2009, I founded Arhanta Yoga Ashrams. I see yoga as a way to master the five senses, so I named our ashrams 'Arhanta Yoga,' the yoga to master the five senses!

In 2017, I also founded Arhanta Yoga Online Academy so that people who can not visit our ashrams can follow our courses remotely.

At Arhanta, we don't just teach yoga. We teach you how to reach your potential, deepen your knowledge, build your confidence, and take charge of your life.

Related Posts